Reflections on oral presentation

Over the years as an undergraduate, I have always had a more cavalier approach to oral presentations. I did not like to memorise scripts and would always rely on my own improvisation on the spot with some reference to the slides prepared. During the module, my usual methodology with oral presentation did not fail me, though I must say there were many areas I could have improved upon. 

A few days before the proposal presentation, I was already thinking of how to deliver it. I was aware that I mustn’t fail my group mates, so I prepared some form of script which I followed loosely. During our practices, I had no problems delivering the presentation (partly due to the lack of assessment during practices!). I had already volunteered to present on the part where I was most familiar, this no doubt helped with the preparations of both the slides and the actual presentation. I made sure my slides weren’t cluttered with information, since I already had some experience with my honours presentation. 

During the actual presentation, I must admit I let my nerves get the better of me. Despite the practices and my familiarity of the subject, I was speaking faster than I should have. On hindsight, I realised I could have looked at my groupmates more, as they mentioned they were trying to slow me down via hand signals. I believe the key area I need to work on is my awareness of my surroundings during presentations, as I would get far too absorbed into the presentation and not noticed small actions or the body language of my audience which I could have used to correct myself mid delivery. 

Nevertheless, the presentation was still a good learning experience and I feel that this would only serve to strengthen my delivery in the future.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on oral presentation

  1. Hi Christopher,

    I’m so sorry for missing your group’s proposal presentation.

    I always think your are good in English communication. From the peer teaching and other small in class presentation, I can really tell that you are that fluent and confident.

    I do noticed the point you have mentioned as well that you tend to focuses more on presentation itself rather than your audience. Just now I was reading Xiaowei’s blog, and the method she uses for practicing was really good – practice in front of a mirror. I think practicing in front of a mirror will help you with your problem as well. You can treat yourself in the mirror as audience and practice engagement and eye contact 🙂

    Thank you for all the nice photos taken ! They will be my precious memory for this module.

    All the best for your exams~

    Warmest regards,
    Zhiwei

    Reply
  2. Hi Christopher!

    I felt that you appeared really confident and you understood your content really well while presenting. I like it that you look very confident and comfortable while presenting. The tone and volume of your voice was appropriate as well. I liked your group’s slides alot by the way! 🙂

    but yes, you tend to speed up as you speak, a problem that i have as well. What i tried to do for this presentation, is that I practiced repeatedly and identified areas which i tend to start to speak faster. I would then consciously remind myself to slow down at those areas. However, during the actual OP, i think nerves won again and i was speaking too fast again. 😦 but i believe that with more practice and more chances at presenting, we will be able to control this better! 🙂

    lastly, congratulations on graduating!!! all the best for your future endeavours 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment